Engine was inadvertantly rotated in wrong direction two revolutions. Will this damage the engine. and is there anything that must be done in the way of service to correct an issue. Thanks

Views: 1497

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Thomas
I did my training in a Sportstar with a 912S 100hp. I was cautioned by my instructor not to rotate the prop backwards as it may damage the vac pump for the AH. I am not aware of any other components that might be damaged. I am not a Rotax expert but I thought that I might let you in on the info that I had seeing that no one else has. Have you asked your question to the Rotax dealer?

Phill
No not yet with the holiday and all. W ill call them tommorow
I know on oil changes they caution you not to do it because it can draw air into he hydraulic tappets I'd say you would be unlucky for it to happen though. Definately talk to some more experienced with rotax engines just to be safe.
Both problems that I am aware of have been mentioned.

Rotating ANY vacuum pump equipped engine backwards might damage the pump (assuming it is a vane type pump, which most are).

Rotating a four stroke Rotax backwards causes the oil pump to rotate backwards and pumps air into the oil pressure lube system. I do not know exactly what problems this causes, but I know it can be a problem. Hopefully, when you talk to the experts tomorrow, they can tell you how to undo whatever problem may have been generated. Good luck.

Let us know what you learn, please. Always good to have knowlege.
Just rotate the crankshaft in the correct direction unitll bubbles are heard in the oil tank. This will force oil through the engine and reprime the hydraulic lifters and the camshaft journals.
You are not the first! And you are not the last!!! Most never own up to it... Apart from the warning above... this is what we do....

We had a student do it - it CAN put air in the system but all we did is the correct oil level check ie.